Carrom Rules

The following rules and guidelines shall be followed for the conduction of carrom tournament:

  1. Each Team or player is assigned a color coin and can only pocket that color coin.
  2. Pocketing the queen must be followed by pocketing another coin on the same strike.
  3. The red ‘queen,’ can be pocketed at any time after sinking your first piece but must be sunk before your last one. After pocketing the queen, you must sink one of your carrom men, thereby ‘covering’ it, into any pocket (Queen & cover can’t be on same pocket) in the next shot, or she is returned to the center spot.
  4. Once the queen is covered, whoever clears all their carrom men first wins the ‘board’.
  5. Queen & cover can’t be on same pocket.
  6. The winner of a board collects one point for each of the opponent’s carrom men left at the finish and three points for the queen if covered by the winner (if covered by the loser, no-one gets those points).
  7. A game consists of 15 points.
  8. When placing the striker on the board to shoot, it must touch both ‘base lines’, either covering the end circle completely, or not touching it at all. The striker may not touch the diagonal arrow line.
  9. Shooting styles are very personal – whichever ‘grip’ works for you is fine as long as you ‘flick’ the striker and don’t push it. Generally, it’s best to orient your body in order to see the line of your aim while shooting comfortably; you may not move or leave your chair.
  10. For forward shots, you can use your index finger, middle finger, or even the ‘scissors’ shot. Before shooting, try touching the striker with your fingernail, to be sure that its really on line. This will improve your accuracy and prevent you from hurting your finger.
  11. Carrom men can be struck directly only if they are not touching the player’s baseline or situated behind the base line. If the carrom man is behind the baseline, the player must hit the carrom man by rebounding the carrom striker off any side of the carrom board or any other carrom piece on the board.
  12. Sinking the striker costs you one piece and your turn. But, if you sink a piece in the same shot, then two come up and you do not shoot again.
  13. After sinking the striker, your opponent places the due piece(s) within the center circle. If you haven’t sunk one yet, you owe one.
  14. If while shooting for the queen you also sink one of your carrom men in the same shot, the queen is automatically covered, no matter which went first.
  15. If a piece jumps off the board, it is placed on the center spot. If pieces land on end or are overlapping, they are left that way.
  16. If the center spot is partially covered when replacing the queen or a jumped piece, the piece should cover as much red as possible. If totally covered, the piece is placed opposite the next player behind the red spot.
  17. If you touch your last piece directly before the queen, you have to pay a penalty.
  18. If you sink your opponent’s piece, you lose your turn. If you sink their last piece, you lose the board and three points.
  19. If you sink your last piece before the queen, you lose the board, three points and one point for each of your opponent’s pieces left.
  20. If the striker does not leave both lines, go again. You get three tries to break before losing your turn.

Leave a Comment